03 honegger philatelie Wissenswertes

The family of tobacco-brown Rayons II, part 2

Resolving the problem of evaluating different color shades present in the tobacco-brown Rayons II concluded last year. Certifier Urs Hermann and the Old Switzerland group within the Swiss Stamp Dealer Association intensified research on the topic, and the conclusions of their first meetings made the Honegger catalog of 2017, where we published a summary of these first results.

Two months later, we sat together with Urs Hermann and had the opportunity to review a dozen of samples, which led him to propose a new evaluation pattern for the different shades. Several amendments to the first chart proved useful in the end. The research showed that instead of a single shade of tobacco-brown, there was a whole family of multiple shades. According to the Michel color guide, a first evaluation could be made regarding the different background color shades, and a second one regarding color intensity.

Confirmed background colors per the Michel color guide would be chrome yellow, yellow-ochre and yellow-orange. Accordingly, the color intensity is divided into four grades ranging from aa (weakest intensity) to ad (strongest intensity). Precise numbers also according to the Michel color guide.

Important notice: all tobacco-brown Rayons II were produced on the A1 lithographic stone!

The following chart, which is also present in the 2018 Swiss Stamp Dealer Association’s catalog, illustrates the results of our research:

Farbnummern  nach Michel Farbenführer

*

O

Brief

1. Tabakbraun, Chromgelb

16IIaa

6-0-5

7500.-

1300.-

2400.-

16IIaa

6-0-6

7500.-

1300.-

2400.-

16IIab

6-0-7

LP

4000.-

7000.-

16IIab

6-0-8

LP

4000.-

7000.-

         

2. Tabakbraun, Gelbocker

16IIab

9-5-4

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIab

9-5-5

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIab

9-5-6

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIac

9-5-7

LP

6000.-

15000.-

         

3. Tabakbraun, Gelborange

16IIad

13-5-7

LP 20000.-

35000.-

16IIad

13-5-8

LP

20000.-

35000.-

 

The fourth group of strong tobacco-brown pieces includes only six known pieces, two of which are kept in the Ernst Müller collection at the Basel Museum of History, and the four remaining are in the hands of private collectors.

This classification will be included in the Swiss Stamp Dealer Association’s catalog.

Please refer to the following numbers in this catalog:

Nuance 6-0-5

0211

211

Nuance 6-0-6

0212

212

Nuance 6-0-7

0213

213

Nuance 9-5-4

0214

214

Nuance 9-5-7

0215

215

Collection of Articles

03 honegger philatelie Wissenswertes

Die Familie der Tabakbraunen Rayons II, Teil 2

Die Aufarbeitung dieses langjährigen Problems der Bewertung der verschiedenen Stufen der tabakbraunen Rayons war vor einem Jahr mehrheitlich erledigt. Der Prüfer Urs Hermann hat sich dieser Sache vertieft angenommen, unterstützt von der Alt-Schweiz-Gruppe des Schweiz. Briefmarken- Händlerverbandes. Die ersten Besprechungen reichten gerade noch aus, um in unseren Honegger- Katalog 2017 aufgenommen zu werden. Dort haben wir eine Aufstellung dieser ersten Resultate veröffentlicht.

Zwei Monate später setzten wir uns erneut mit Urs Hermann zusammen und hatten bei der Gelegenheit die paar Dutzend Vorlagestücke auf dem Tisch, die bei ihm zu seinem Vorschlag der Aufteilung dieser Marken geführt hatten. Dabei hat sich gezeigt, dass gewisse Änderungen der ersten Tabelle von Vorteil wären. So hat sich erneut wieder einmal gezeigt, dass es nicht nur eine einzige Farbe «Tabakbraun» gibt, sondern eine Familie mit unterschiedlichen Abstufungen. Als sinnvolle Aufteilung hat sich deshalb die Unterscheidung der verschiedenen Hintergrundfarben (nach Michel Farbenführer) ergeben und in zweiter Linie dann nach den jeweiligen Farbintensitäten.

Als Hintergrundfarben unterscheidet man nach Michel Farbenführer Chromgelb, Gelbocker und Gelborange. Und die Farbintensität nach aa (= schwächste Farbintensität), ab, ac und ad (= stärkste Farbintensität). Dazu die genauen Nummern nach dem Michel Farbenführer.

Wichtig: alle Tabakbraunen Rayons II stammen vom Druckstein A1!

Das ergibt dann folgende Tabelle, die wir im Katalog des Schweiz. Briefmarken-Händlerverbandes des Jahrganges 2018 bereits übernommen haben:

Alle Stücke der Familie der Tabakbraunen stammen vom Druckstein A1!

Farbnummern  nach Michel Farbenführer

*

O

Brief

1. Tabakbraun, Chromgelb

16IIaa

6-0-5

7500.-

1300.-

2400.-

16IIaa

6-0-6

7500.-

1300.-

2400.-

16IIab

6-0-7

LP

4000.-

7000.-

16IIab

6-0-8

LP

4000.-

7000.-

         

2. Tabakbraun, Gelbocker

16IIab

9-5-4

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIab

9-5-5

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIab

9-5-6

12000.-

2000.-

3500.-

16IIac

9-5-7

LP

6000.-

15000.-

         

3. Tabakbraun, Gelborange

16IIad

13-5-7

LP 20000.-

35000.-

16IIad

13-5-8

LP

20000.-

35000.-

 

Von dieser 3. Gruppe der Gelborangen gibt es bisher insgesamt nur sechs Stücke (wovon zwei in der Sammlung Ernst Müller im Basler historischen Museum, die andern in Privatsammlungen sind).
Diese Klassierung wird in den Katalog des Schweiz-Briefmarken-Händlerverbandes aufgenomme.

Studieren Sie dazu nachfolgenden Nummern aus diesem Katalog:

Nuance 6-0-5

0211

211

Nuance 6-0-6

0212

212

Nuance 6-0-7

0213

213

Nuance 9-5-4

0214

214

Nuance 9-5-7

0215

215

Artikelsammlung