03 honegger philatelie Wissenswertes

Let's hear from old times.

About the history of the printing of the A1 Yellow Rayons.

With none of the great experts and researchers of the Durheim editions I had a closer written contact than with Werner Städeli. Over the years this has certainly resulted in dozens of letters. Even more than with Dr. V. Streiff. The most intensive personal contact however I had with Willy Bryner, as I met him on countless Saturdays to discuss the Rayons. The contact with all three was a formative one for me and I owe them a lot.

While searching for an old record, I happened to come across a letter from Werner Städeli to me dated October 14, 1972, from which I would like to quote a few passages, because they provide answers to questions about the color varieties of the first printing stone of the Yellow Rayon, the A1 stone, and could therefore still be of current interest today. Städeli wrote:

"Durheim had begun printing the A1 stone stamps a few months prior to their date of issue (Oct. 1, 1850). He undoubtedly searched for the most given yellow colour for the R II and tried all possible yellow colours and mixtures. He then seems to have found it, because alongside stone A2 the dozens of colour variations, as they were found for A1s, have suddenly disappeared. Of course there are, as in every stone, color varieties in the A2 issue as well. My collection consists not only of pieces by printing stones, but mainly of colour variations all stemming from one printing stone. I own a whole volume of only Rayon II A1 and invite you to a tour when you come to Zurich".

And further from his letter: "Durheim, asked by philatelist Schulze at the beginning of the nineties (shortly before Durheim's death), testified: I hadn't been so concerned with the frank notes. Photography was my passion at the time. It was a lot of testing and experimenting at the time, until it matched the expectations of Federal Minister Näff (Post Minister)."

Städeli continues: "There was a fear of forgeries - at that time of course only those that caused damage to the post, which is why 40 different types were created. Let us not forget that multicolour printing was new territory for Durheim at the time. There was still no multicolour printing in postage stamp lithography in the whole world.

At the end of the 1940s I travelled all over Western Europe, from Spain to England to Norway, and in addition to the better printing stones, I mainly searched for colour varieties within the individual printing stones. Abroad there wasn't anyone who knew about the Rayon printing stones anyway and in Switzerland there were at that time at most five specialists, each one of them with different abilities, who began to collect this area. I bought what I could and brought it home to Dr. Munk to take pictures.

The A1 stone must be regarded as a single test work by Durheim. There are those yellow prints among these pieces, which I consider to be much rarer than the so-called tobacco brown ones. But this can only be seen by a specialist who excels in this specific field."

So much of the excerpts from Werner Städeli's letter.

Carl Durheim was a lithographer in Bern. His passion however was not so much the (lithographic) printing of postage stamps than photography - daguerreotypes. Portraits at first, then landscapes. He ran a photo studio in Bern.

The German Dr. Herbert Munk (1875 - 1953) can undoubtedly be called the first researcher of the Durheim stamps. He was one of the greatest stamp experts of his time and worked on the large Kohl handbook of postage stamps, in which all postal areas known at that time were to be covered in alphabetical order. He had finished letters "A" to "I" when he had to leave Germany in 1936 and emigrated to Switzerland. The Swiss Philatelic Association asked him to take care of the Durheim editions, which in the following years gave him access to most of the large collections. The deterioration of his health forced him to stop working in 1951. Ernst Müller from Basel was able to take these over, alongside around 12,000 photographs of Rayons I and II. He set himself the goal of continuing the work of reconstructing the Rayon printing stones. Ernst Müller was able to complete the Rayon II edition with the help of his colleague Jean Kottelat and the great collector and researcher Dr. V. Streiff towards the end of the 1960s. The relevant study was published in the 1967/1968 editions of the SBZ (Swiss Stamp Journal).

Based on the documents and photos of Dr. Munk, Mario Colombi, Dr. Viktor Streiff, Jean Kottelat and Werner Städeli decided to complete the studies of the light blue Rayons if at all possible, which then succeeded shortly before the sudden death of Dr. Streiff (1973). In the following years, this work was gradually published in the SBZ and, with the help of the Philatelic Support Fund, also as a standalone book.

Own thoughts about these circumstances of the Rayon II, Stone A1:

  • Suddenly it becomes clear why the yellow A1 stone is so versatile and therefore still so popular today. Not only the variety of stamps is inspiring, but also the variety of colour nuances. Those of the tobacco brown family were discussed in cooperation with the examiner Urs Hermann and studied scientifically in a quite extensive manner, and the results were included in the catalogue of the Swiss Stamp Dealers' Association alongside evaluations. Further colour nuances will probably be added in the future.
  • The later stones A2, A3, B and B1 have only a few striking colour nuances. There are some more among the stones D and E. That is not very surprising either, as Dr. Munk estimated there were about 300,000 copies of the A1 stone edition, much less than the stone D and E editions however, which each had around 2,240,000 pieces. In a significantly larger edition it is understandable that there should be much more colour differences, since the colour had to be remixed much more often. Nevertheless, there are much fewer nuances than in the A1 run, which clearly points to Städeli's assumption that the A1 stone was a testing chamber for Durheim, where a lot of "testing and experimenting" took place. (According to Durheim himself.)
  • When we use these finished works today for the daily work of determination, do we at least occasionally think of those pioneers who, through years of work and a great deal of time and money, paved the way for the finished books? We can no longer personally thank these people today if we have not done so during their lifetime. For myself, this means that (before the publication of the determination books!) I was not only able to have hundreds, but probably several thousand Rayons classified by Dr. Streiff and Werner Städeli in terms of printing stones. Often for a minimal fee, but often - as in the case of Dr. Streiff - also simply for the possibility of giving him missing types at a fair price.
  • Today, however, we can express our gratitude to these early researchers to those who today are concerned with reconstructing new areas and who approach us for help by also helping them to the best of our ability. In the field of Durheim editions, I am thinking above all of Felix Fischer, who has been working for years on the various printing stones of the dark blue Rayons, and Bernhard Geiser, who is working on the reconstruction of a (soon-to-be) complete array of the Cantonal stamps. Such efforts, that will sooner or later benefit all philatelists, cannot be overestimated. They deserve our gratitude

Collection of Articles

03 honegger philatelie Wissenswertes

Lasst hören aus alter Zeit

Zur Geschichte des Drucks des Steines A1 der gelben Rayons

Mit keinem der grossen Kenner und Forscher der Durheim-Ausgaben hatte ich einen engeren schriftlichen Kontakt als mit Werner Städeli. Im Laufe der Jahre ergab dies sicher Dutzende von Schreiben. Noch mehr als mit Dr. V. Streiff. Mit Willy Bryner schliesslich verband mich der inten-sivste persönliche Kontakt, indem ich unzählige Samstage mit ihm zusammentraf, um über die Rayons zu diskutieren. Der Kontakt mit allen dreien war für mich prägend und ich habe ihnen sehr viel zu verdanken.
Auf der Suche nach einer alten Aufzeichnung bin ich zufällig auf ein Schreiben von Werner Städeli an mich vom 14. Oktober 1972 gestossen, aus dem ich gerne einige Passagen zitieren möchte, weil sie Antworten auf Fragen zur Farbenvielfalt des ersten Drucksteines der gelben Rayons, des Steines A1, geben und deshalb heute immer noch von aktuellem Interesse sein könnten. So schreibt Städeli:
«Durheim hatte mit dem Druck der Stein A1-Marken einige Monate vor Ausgabe (1.Okt.1850) be-gonnen. Er hat da zweifellos die gegebenste Gelbfarbe für die R II gesucht und alle möglichen Gelbfarben und Mischungen versucht. Er scheint sie dann auch gefunden zu haben, denn mit Stein A2 sind die Dutzenden von Farbvariationen, wie sie bei A1 gefunden werden, schlagartig verschwunden. Natürlich hat es auch, wie in jedem Stein, im A2 Farbvarietäten. Meine Samm-lung besteht nicht nur in Stücken nach Drucksteinen, sondern in der Hauptsache in Farbvariatio-nen innerhalb eines Drucksteines. Ich besitze einen ganzen Band nur Rayon II A1 und lade Sie ein-mal, wenn Sie nach Zürich kommen, zu einer Besichtigung ein.»

Und weiter aus seinem Brief:
«Durheim, vom Philatelisten Schulze Anfang der Neunzigerjahre (kurz vor Durheims Tod) gefragt, sagte aus: Mit den Frankozettelchen hatte ich mich nicht so befasst. Das Photographieren war damals meine Passion. Es sei viel gepröbelt und verpröbelt worden damals, bis es dem Herrn Bundesrat Näff (Postminister) in den Kram gepasst habe.»
Städeli fährt fort: «Man hatte Angst vor Fälschungen, damals natürlich nur zum Schaden der Post, weswegen auch 40 verschiedene Typen erstellt wurden. Vergessen wir nicht, dass der Vielfar-bendruck damals für Durheim Neuland war. Es existierten im Steindruck noch keine Mehrfarben-drucke auf dem Markengebiet auf der Welt.
Ende der Vierzigerjahre reiste ich in ganz Westeuropa herum, von Spanien über England bis Nor-wegen und suchte mir nebst den besseren Drucksteinen hauptsächlich Farbvarietäten innerhalb der einzelnen Drucksteine zusammen. Im Ausland kannte man die Rayon-Drucksteine ohnehin nicht und in der Schweiz waren es damals höchstens fünf Spezialisten, mit unterschiedlichem Können, die dieses Gebiet zu sammeln anfingen. Ich kaufte, was ich irgendwie konnte und brachte es Dr. Munk, zwecks Fotoerstellung, heim.
Der Stein A1 muss als eine einzige Probearbeit von Durheim angesehen werden. Es gibt unter diesen Stücken solche Gelbdrucke, die ich noch für viel seltener halte, als die sog. Tabakbraunen. Aber das kann nur ein Spezialist ersehen, der sich mit diesem Gebiet speziell abgibt.»
Soweit die Auszüge aus dem Schreiben von Werner Städeli.

Carl Durheim war Lithograf in Bern. Seine Leidenschaft gehörte aber weniger dem Druck der Briefmarken (im Steindruckverfahren), sondern der Fotografie, der Daguerrotypien. Zunächst Portraits, dann auch Landschaften. Er betrieb in Bern ein Fotoatelier.
Den Deutschen Dr. Herbert Munk (1875 – 1953) kann man zweifelsohne als ersten Erforscher der Durheim-Marken bezeichnen. Er war einer der grössten Markenkenner seiner Zeit und arbeitete am grossen Kohl-Briefmarken-Handbuch, in welchem alle damals bekannten Postgebiete alpha- betisch bearbeitet werden sollten. Er kam vom Buchstaben «A» bis zum «I», als er 1936 Deutsch-land verlassen musste und in die Schweiz emigrierte. Der Schweiz. Philatelisten-Verein bat ihn, sich der Durheim-Ausgaben anzunehmen, was ihm in den folgenden Jahren den Zugang zu den meisten grossen Sammlungen ermöglichte. Die Verschlechterung seines Gesundheitszustandes zwang ihn, 1951 seine Arbeiten einzustellen. Ernst Müller aus Basel konnte diese, zusammen mit rund 12000 Fotos der Rayons I und II, übernehmen. Dieser setzte sich zum Ziel, die Arbeit der Rekonstruktion der Rayon-Drucksteine weiterzuführen. Jene der Rayon II-Ausgabe konnte Ernst Müller mit Hilfe von Kollege Jean Kottelat und vom grossen Sammler und Forscher Dr. V. Streiff gegen Ende der 60er-Jahre vervollständigen. Die diesbezügliche Studie wurde 1967/1968 in der Schweiz. Briefmarken-Zeitung veröffentlicht.
Auf den Unterlagen und Fotos von Dr. Munk basierend, entschlossen sich Mario Colombi, Dr. Viktor Streiff, Jean Kottelat und Werner Städeli, die Studien der hellblauen Rayons wenn irgend möglich auch zu Ende zu bringen, was kurz vor dem plötzlichen Ableben von Dr. Streiff (1973) auch ge-lang. Auch dieses Werk wurde in den folgenden Jahren in der SBZ nach und nach veröffentlicht und mit Hilfe des Fonds zur Förderung der Philatelie ebenfalls in Buchform herausgegeben.

Eigene Gedanken zu diesen Gegebenheiten bei den Rayon II, Stein A1:
Plötzlich wird einem klar, warum der gelbe A1-Stein dermassen vielfältig und dadurch auch heute noch dermassen beliebt ist. Nicht nur die Stempelvielfalt begeistert hier, sondern vor allem auch die Vielfalt an Farbnuancen. Jene der Familie der Tabakbraunen haben wir in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Prüfer Urs Hermann erörtert und recht umfassend wissenschaftlich studiert und die Ergeb-nisse im Katalog des Schweizer Briefmarken-Händler-Verbandes mit Bewertungen aufgenom-men. Künftig werden wohl noch weitere Farbnuancen Aufnahme finden.

Es gibt bei den späteren Steinen A2, A3, B und B1 nur wenige markante Farbnuancen. Einzig bei den Steinen D und E wieder etwas mehr. Das ist aber auch kein Wunder. Denn Dr. Munk schätzte die Auflage des Steines A1 auf ca. 300’000 Exemplare. Jene der Steine D und E jedoch je auf rund 2’240’000 Stück. Bei einer 7- 8x grösseren Auflage ist es verständlich, dass es viel mehr Farb-unterschiede geben müsste. Denn die Farbe musste ja auch viel häufiger neu gemischt werden. Dennoch gibt es viel weniger Nuancen als bei A1, was klar auf die Vermutung von Städeli hin-weist, dass der Stein A1 für Durheim ein eigentliches Experimentierfeld dargestellt hatte, auf dem viel «gepröbelt und verpröbelt» worden sei (Nach Durheim selber).

Wenn wir heute diese fertigen Werke für die tägliche Bestimmungsarbeit benützen, denken wir dabei ab und zu wenigstens an jene Vorreiter, die in jahrelanger Arbeit und mit viel Einsatz an Zeit und Geld den Weg bis zu den fertigen Büchern bereitet haben? Wir alle können diesen Leuten heute nicht mehr persönlich danken, wenn wir es nicht zu deren Lebzeiten schon getan haben. Für mich selber bedeutet dies, dass ich (vor Veröffentlichung der Bestimmungsbücher!) nicht nur hunderte, sondern wohl einige tausend Rayons von Dr. Streiff und Werner Städeli druckstein-mässig bestimmen lassen konnte. Oft gegen eine minimale Gebühr, oft aber auch – wie im Falle Dr. Streiff – einfach gegen die Möglichkeit, ihm fehlende Typen zu einem fairen Preis zu überlassen.

Die Dankbarkeit diesen frühen Forschern gegenüber können wir heute jedoch jenen entgegen-bringen, die sich heute mit Rekonstruktionen neuer Gebiete befassen und uns für entsprechende Hilfen angehen, indem wir diesen nach besten Möglichkeiten auch helfen. Im Bereich der Dur-heim-Ausgaben denke ich vor allem an Felix Fischer, der seit Jahren an den verschiedenen Druck-steinen der dunkelblauen Rayons, und an Bernhard Geiser, der an der Rekonstruktion wohl bald einmal sämtlicher Kantonal-Marken arbeitet. Solche Bemühungen, die früher oder später allen Philatelisten einmal zugute kommen werden, sind nicht hoch genug einzuschätzen. Ihnen ge-bührt unser aller Dank.

Artikelsammlung